Peterson: ‘I was scared to death’

By Danya Hooker, dhooker@mysuburbanlife.com

Drew Peterson’s erratic behavior in the days following the disappearance of his 23-year-old wife Stacy was a trained response to stress, the former Bolingbrook sergeant said Friday on ‘Larry King Live.’

“I was being barraged by [media]…I was being questioned by police. I was scared to death,” Peterson said. “And policemen – any policeman will tell you that police deal with stress and despair with humor. They laugh, they make jokes. They’re trained not to show emotions.”

Peterson conceded the behavior may have been an inappropriate response in public. His customary lack of emotion continued throughout the hour-long interview, but Peterson remained calm throughout King’s questioning and throughout a handful of questions from the public.

He appeared to near a breaking point only once, when he was asked how he sleeps at night.

“I’m bothered by the fact that [Stacy] left. And I’m bothered by the fact that my children don’t have a mom,” Peterson said, his demeanor betraying a hint of emotion. “I’m raising a little girl who needs female attention. And, yes, sometimes I have trouble sleeping with it.”

Peterson, 54, said he still believes his wife left with another man and will eventually be found alive. She went missing Oct. 28 and police are calling the disappearance a “potential homicide.” Investigators have also reopened the case of Drew Peterson’s third wife Kathleen Savio’s mysterious 2004 drowning, which had been ruled accidental.

Savio’s body was exhumed in November and two pathologists, one at the request of Savio’s family and one on behalf of Will County, performed separate autopsies. Each recently ruled her death a homicide.

“The circumstances surrounding all of this are weird,” King said.

“And even, I’ll admit, suspicious,” Brodsky replied. “But when you look beyond mere suspiciousn and look for hard facts and proof, there is none.”

Brodsky reaffirmed his belief that his client will never be charged with a crime, noting police have investigated every angle for more than five months and have yet to file charges.

“And that says, I think, volumes,” Brodsky said.

Meanwhile, Illinois State Police said in a statement they are confident that Stacy Peterson did not voluntarily disappear and that the investigation “will culminate in an arrest.”

Drew Peterson’s appearance was the latest in a series of high-profile interviews granted in an attempt to improve his public image.

“What you saw today is the real Drew Peterson,” Brodsky said. “It is not only the goofy things he was doing earlier on. This is the real guy.”

But Stacy Peterson family spokeswoman Pam Bosco denounced the recent media blitz, saying the appearances are merely attempts to “promote himself…for future profit.”

11 thoughts on “Peterson: ‘I was scared to death’

  1. YOu have a type in your article.

    It should say that Stacy didnt voluntaryily leave. You have did.

    Makes a BIG difference.

  2. Exlaw, you’re right…..no charges yet. However, the grand jury is still in session, and the ISP DID say that this investigation WILL culminate in an arrest. Think there’s another suspect besides Drew that we don’t know about? Not!

  3. Exlaw, you know what? I’m not sorry to admit that sometimes I really DO feel sorry for Drew. When I think about how good life could have been for him for his remaining years, how he was blessed with six children, and finally a beautiful little daughter after five boys (who from all acounts seem to be well and healthy), possibly some grandchildren, or the possibilty of grandchildren if there aren’t any yet, and lots of years left to enjoy his retirement with his many hobbies and his children and grandchildren. But now, it looks very much like he screwed all of that up, doesn’t it? If he’s charged and ends up in prision, he has absolutely lost everything he’s worked his whole life for, not to mention watching his two youngest children grow up, or really getting to know his grandchildren. What I pray for is that justice prevails here. Most everybody does, I feel sure. Whatever happened to Stacy, and whoever is responsible for her death (and yes, I definitely believe she’s dead) should be punished. There are thousands of people praying for that every single day. Everything points in Drew’s direction, and I’ve said many times only a fool would believe he’s innocent. However, in the unlikely event that he’s PROVEN not quilty, then I will be one of the first people to apologize. What it’s all going to come down to is not evidence, circumstantial or otherwise….but rather which attorney does the better job of presenting his case. Drew more than likely WILL be indicted because his attorney certainly does not seem to be the one of the smarter members of the Illinois Bar Association. Has he even tried a murder case at all??? If he hasn’t, Drew’s choice seems more like he’s chosen a gynecologist to perform brain surgery. All of this is just my opinion, which I reserve the right to express.

  4. Exlaw,

    In my opinion, Brodsky was trying to show-up ISP when he made his comment that there will never be an arrest.

    As concern for Stacy stated, grnd jury is still in session. Once done, there will be an arrest and justice will be served for Kathleen Savio and Stacy Peterson. I guarentee it!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. If the grand jury had already found something, anything the an arrest warrant would have already been served. They do nt have to wait until they are done, that can be done at any time. The State Police could,nt even fing a garage door opener in a car, so thats where my belief in them edns, they have the same problem with Craig Stebic. I agree if Drew is found to be the one he loses everything in his life.I want him not the one just as much as people want stacy found. Either way we all lose somehow.Mr Bodsky seems to be doing okay, he got the cars back did he not ? Craig Stebic had to wait a year and he only got one car back. And there has been no arrest. so thats progress on his end.There might be an arrest but I doubt it will be Drew.

  6. That’s pretty insulting to Illinois State Police, …”exlawenforcement”.

    Now, why did you say you stopped being a cop ?

    (from above article)
    “Meanwhile, Illinois State Police said in a statement they are confident that Stacy Peterson did not voluntarily disappear and that the investigation “will culminate in an arrest.”

  7. Exlaw, do you know if Drew’s father (NOT his stepfather) is still alive? And if so, does he live in the Bolingbrook area? I’ve wondered about him, and also about Drew’s son Eric. Do you know why they (Eric & Drew) are “estranged” as the press has said? So few of Drew’s family have been seen or written about in the press, except his brother Paul, his mom, and his son Stephen. You seem to know so much about Drew, just wondered if you knew anything about his dad and son Eric. Thanks!

  8. I left the state I was living in after a divorce from my cop husband. My family still lived here in the Chicago area and wanted me to come home. My mom was in her last years and my daughter needed help with her three kids. So home I came. I always missed Chicago and the timing was good. Thats why I am back here now. I resigned from the city and the school board I was on. I still go back several times a year to see all my friends in the police dept. and other people i care about.I changed careers once I moved back and got a real good offer to work close to home.

Comments are closed.