Drew Peterson pulled over for speeding

By Danya Hooker, dhooker@mysuburbanlife.com

Drew Peterson was pulled over by Naperville police Saturday as he sped to help a friend in need, Peterson said Tuesday.

“I was being a Good Samaritan,” Peterson said.

A woman called Peterson after the driver of a car she was riding in was arrested for drunken driving, Peterson said.

Naperville police pulled him over at about 2:30 a.m. going north near the 800 block of South Washington Street, Naperville police said.

“She’s a friend of a friend. I went to pick her up and I was going a little fast,” Peterson said.

Naperville police spokesman Dave Hoffman said Peterson was issued a written warning for speeding. Peterson said he was going between 6 mph and 8 mph over the speed limit.

Peterson’s fourth wife Stacy disappeared Oct. 28 at the age of 23. Peterson is a suspect in the disappearance, which police are calling a “potential homicide.”

Police are also re-examining the March 2004 drowning of Peterson’s third wife Kathleen Savio. Her death was recently ruled a homicide but police have not named a suspect.

Peterson has denied any wrongdoing in either case and has not been charged with a crime.

20 thoughts on “Drew Peterson pulled over for speeding

  1. Again, Drew’s not-so-good judgement puts him out there for scrutiny. You would think he would stay as far as posible from any run-ins with the law. When he got the call at 2 am, it probably would have been better for him to call one of his flunkies to help this friend of a friend. Was Steve Carcerano not available?

  2. Whitewitch, I would venture to say that Drew has probably rescued many, many people in his nearly 30 years of being a police officer, and I agree with you that he is probably very good at it. It certainly isn’t any of my business either, who he rescues and when. However, given that he is so stridently scrutinized for every move he makes, it might have been a little wiser of him if he had just called a cab for this lady instead of going all the way over to Naperville to get her and take her home. UNLESS……he was already out partying or at a bar somewhere at that time of the night. If he wasn’t, I guess he had to wake his older children to tell them he was leaving home at that time of night to go help somebody. Being a mom myself, I would probably be worried about the house burning down with the children asleep in it, or even somebody trying to break in to do him harm since he’s had death threats so often. I’m sure the young lady was very well aware that he had sleeping children at home, and it’s surprising that she would not be very considerate of that fact, and would have just called a cab herself, or another friend or relative closer by. Probably even a Naperville police officer would have taken her home if they had arrested her companion. It tells me, and again, this is just my opinion, that she and Drew were obviously good enough friends that she felt like she could call him at any hour for help or a favor, and that’s a darn good friend, you know? I don’t think that I could personally call anyone and wake them up to leave their sleeping children alone to come give me a ride home because my companion was too drunk to drive. But hey, that’s me. Guess other people do! There’s just something a little strange about the whole thing, and I can’t help but wonder if Drew put this out there to the media himself, or if the Naperville police reported it. All of the comments were made by Drew and his attorney, os it makes you wonder. As I said, it’s just kind of a strange “news” report, with stranger circumstances. Just my opinion……

  3. I do not understand why the press made a big deal out of it either. Who knows what adult may have been at Drews home also at the time, hard to tell. I would love to have any one who would help me in the middle of the night, I would probally not call anyone since I would not want to wake anyone up, but thats me. I guess this person is comfortable enough to be able to call him & ask. I guess we will just have to wonder about it, just like everything else in this mess. Theres so many questions and no solid answers.

  4. Gee- wonder if she’s single? I doubt that DiP would have given her his numbers if she was married…

  5. According to the news release and Brodsky’s additional comments, she is indeed single but has boy friend her own age. Brodsky also stated the police took her friend to jail, towed the car, and left her all alone of the side of the road. Now THAT, I find impossible to believe! I can’t imagine any police officer in America leaving a 22 year old woman on the side of the road all alone at 2:30 in the morning to try and find a way home. Maybe things are done differently in Illinois than in the state where I live, but that scenario is too hard to swallow.

  6. I agree, cfs7360. Police would NOT leave a person stranded in that situation.

    Something seriously stinks in Denmark about this whole story…

  7. Did anyone find out if the police did in fact leave that woman on the side of the road all alone at 2:30 in the morning?
    I think that would be good to know if that is true.

  8. Just curious as to how the media got a hold of this story. NPD has stated they didn’t call, so who called?

  9. Kimmer, it leads you to believe that it was released by the Peterson camp, doesn’t it? That’s what I thought, initially from the way the article implied Drew was personally interviewd. Peterson said, Brodsky said, etc. Brodsky’s additional comments turned an incident that was apparently intended to put Drew in a good light into pure stupidity on both parts, in my opinion.

  10. If they were, it looks as though you would see them in the newpapers or other media. I’m not from there, so have you seen any such reports?

  11. The only ones you see made public in the state where I live are the ones involving “newsworthy” people. Maybe that’s the only reason it was made public there. Who knows?

  12. Maybe when he was pulled over, as I believe is the case, the officer radioed in his location, the license plate of the stopped vehicle, and/or the driver’s personal information. That’s for his protection, as well as verifying that that driver doesn’t have any outstanding warrants.

    Reporters monitor police radios 24/7. That’s nothing new. If and when that information was transmitted over a police radio, that would certainly cause a stir, simply because of who it was. The rest is history, so to speak.

  13. You know, I’ve seen quite a few comments here, there, about this 22 year old being “left stranded” at 2:30am by herself.

    I don’t know how to even approach the reason why that is even an issue, one way or the other. That’s just my opinion.

    I think she had more reason to be concerned about allowing herself to get into a car with a man who was drunk, apparently enough to garner the attention of the police to make a stop, then anyone “worrying” about her well being afterwards. This drunk of hers could have killed himself, her, and other innocent people because of his altered condition.

    Tell me she was left stranded. At least she was alive and wasn’t cut to smithereens by busted steel and glass in a car accident, at the hands of a drunk!

  14. Another good point Rescue! However, I can’t buy that police actually left her alone at the time of night. That was my concern, even though you’re right about not being in a car accident. Could have been just as bad if someone had abducted her and you know the rest. No matter, Drew saved her, and all is well…..for now.

  15. The police would NOT have left her stranded.

    I’m waiting to hear LE’s version of the events. To assume that JB has told the absolute truth about this is beyond ridiculous.

  16. As someone pointed out to me, “on the street” can mean “on the street in front of the police station” too.

    Not as “sinister” as “on the street in a bad neighborhood” but then what does Joel say? “Sinister sells.”

  17. Well, JB, ya tried, hon. Failed miserably again, yes- but I gotta give ya credit for trying. Can’t be easy having a client like yours.

Comments are closed.