Your Thread – June 18

Hey folks,

Here’s Wednesday’s thread. Also, now that developments in the Peterson case are no longer daily front page news, we’d like to try jumpstarting the Question and Answer section we started a while back.

The idea is to give you all, our readers, a chance to let us know what questions you’d like answers to. As questions come in, we’ll take them and find the appropriate family members, experts and authorities. Then, we’ll post the question and the answer on the blog.

So, if something in this case has you puzzled, perplexed or just plain baffled, send it to Danya Hooker, at dhooker@mysuburbanlife.com. Be sure to include if and how you’d like to be identified when we post the question and its answer. Keep in mind that there are aspects of this case that we will not be able find information on because of the ongoing investigation. But we’ll do our best to track down answers to as many questions as we can.

~By posting on this blog you agree to be bound by the rules of this blog and by our Terms of Use. If you spot a rule violation, send an e-mail to reportabuse@mysuburbanlife.com.

39 thoughts on “Your Thread – June 18

  1. Danya, I’ll send an email if you’d like, but I really would like to know who Stacy’s psychiatrist was that Drew said he had her seeing. I’m sure he can’t publicly discuss her mental state at the time he was treating her, how often she saw him, or what medication he had her on, but I’m just curious if the GJ has called him to testify, and if not, why not? Looks to me as though it would be relevant testimony. Thanks!

  2. I just wanted to pop in to say “hi” to everyone.

    I’ve been reading here almost daily, and yesterday I had a nice long post in answer to what it was that got me interested in this particular case. As I said, it was a long post and when I hit “submit” I got a message that I must be logged in to post. So, I lost the entire post! I had some things that needed to be done and didn’t re-type it.

    At the moment I can’t think of a question to ask, but I think the question that cfs asked is an excellent one!

  3. What ‘drew’ me toward this case is that Bollingbrook is only about 4 hrs. from where I live; also the cop with one dead wife and now one missing (who I have come to believe is also deceased). It isn’t the first case I’ve followed; but it is one of the most interesting. I got so sick of the OJ investigation and the trial … and the drama in the courtroom, “if the glove doesn’t fit, you must acquit”…

    I believe that Drew is guilty in both the death of Kathleen and Stacy. He is a very fearful person, and I fear for the children. How I would like to see them removed from his custody! I believe that Stacy will be found near their home; I won’t rule out a primitive cremation or a burial on their property. I agree that the statement about her being where she wants to be and the deeper or surface remarks are revealing, not sure what either means at this point, though.

  4. I saw this in Sneed’s column today (Chicago Sun Times):

    Bad company
    The Peterson case . . .

    June 18, 2008

    BY MICHAEL SNEED Sun-Times Columnist

    Psst: Sneed hears the predatory sex offender brother of Stacy Peterson, who was released from prison earlier this month, visited his missing sister’s children Monday.

    • • To wit: Drew Peterson, the ex-Bolingbrook cop whose every move has been scrutinized since his wife’s disappearance, permitted his brother-in-law, Yelton Cales, to visit Anthony, 4, and Lacy, 3, under his strict supervision.

    • • Quoth Peterson’s attorney, Joel Brodsky: “Obviously Drew watched very closely. . . .That’s their uncle, and as long he behaves himself [he can visit].”

    • • Background: Cales, 28, reportedly phoned Peterson intermittently during his incarceration and was released following a four-year sentence for aggravated criminal sexual abuse to a 15-year-old girl. Classified as a predatory sex offender, Cales is required to register with the state for the rest of his life.

    • • Side note: On the day Stacy disappeared, she was planning to repaint Cales’ home. Peterson is now a prime suspect in the disappearance of his wife.

    *****************

    How do you like that – JB said Drew “watched very closely.” Give me a break. Why doesn’t he just keep his yap shut? To insinuate that Drew is the moral authority, watching over his BIL whilst he visits the children, is making me sick just thinking about it.

    Just all I have to say about that!

  5. I’m sorry this writer waited until nearly the last paragraph to explain that Yelton’s victim was 15 years old.

    IMO he makes it sound like Drew’s kids are in danger from a sexual predator standpoint.

    IMO the two are not the same.

  6. Danya said: The idea is to give you all, our readers, a chance to let us know what questions you’d like answers to. As questions come in, we’ll take them and find the appropriate family members, experts and authorities. Then, we’ll post the question and the answer on the blog.
    ________________
    Great idea! Thank you!

  7. I have always followed these type of cases….. but what got me more interested in this one was after seeing DP act like a
    moron, like a little kid, and then thinking to
    myself “this guy used to patrol the streets, and was able to ruin peoples lives at his discretion!”
    I know his type of personality, and he is the EXACT type that will trump up charges if he did not like you. I figured he was guilty, at least, of being a detriment to society and a child molester. (I despise “above the law” cops)

    So I checked out everything else I could find on the case, and figured EVERYONE could not be lying except DrewP………….
    ……so, um, ya,……….. he is guilty as sin.

    25,000, bikini, passport, Stacy tells him where the car is?? lol

    Did not let LE search Stacy’s car, until he could hide evidence……. oh, I mean until they got a search warrant.

    “uhhh, well maybe she did”

    all the wives, and their friends and families stories,

    will not let kids testify,

    3 day “head clearing” trip?

    pleads the 5th,

    TM and neighbor,

    said too many times “I don’t know” when asked why EVERYONE is lying except him,

    the botched autopsy

    time line?

    the list goes on and on…………………

    I pray he bakes in prison. (where HE “can be watched very closely”) If not the Supreme Being will deal with him in the afterlife. There is no way to sleaze out of that.

  8. You know, what really galls me about this article I posted here, and, believe me, I am quite worked up about it, is that Drew Peterson can, in my opinion, be categorized as being in the “same company” as YC, so to speak. When he started hitting on SP, she was just 16 or 17 at the time, so DP is in no position to have his goofy attorney stating that YC was supervised when visiting DP’s children. Mr. Cales was not incarcerated for being a pedophile. Not that I am meeting the call to defend him in any way, but his situation is very similar to that of DP’s. Remember reading how DP made sure he had his back-end covered by looking into whether or not his early relationship with SP was “legal?” He would have kept up with her anyway; he just made sure his job wasn’t on the line by hitting on such a young woman. Who does Brodsky think he’s talking to when he makes these assinine remarks like: “That’s their uncle, and as long he behaves himself [he can visit].”

    In fact, I hope Brodsky is reading this, because he is just as inept at his public relations remarks as he ever was!!! I am so appalled that he would even open his mouth and make a remark that “as long as he behaves himself” he can visit. In that regard, what’s his client’s excuse for trolling and prowling around for young women???

    I wish Brodsky would answer to that! Think I’ve made my point?

    Just expressing my opinion…..

  9. Good question for Brodsky. I don’t know the details of the Yelton case but Drew could hardly be a moral authority in this regard. He’s after the kids that could be dating his sons.

  10. I loosely followed the O.J. Simpson case, Robert Blake, and Scott and Laci Peterson cases.

    I intently followed the Darren Mack case – wealthy Reno, Nevada businessman who murdered his ex-wife, shot their divorce judge, and fled to Mexico. In that case, it’s almost never ending, as Darren Mack believes that he’s entitled – being wealthy, he should get a pass on killing his ex-wife and trying to kill a judge. Although convicted and now in prison (sentenced in February of 2008) he’s got a girlfriend who continues the fight to get Darren a new trial. And while he spends millions hiring and firing attorneys to fight his case, he won’t pay child support for his 8-year-old daughter.

    What attracted me to this case was the combined elements of a police officer, with a missing wife, a former wife who’s death was suspicious, previous wives, and the outrageous comments made by Drew Peterson. It was his comments and behavior that have made this case stand out among other missing persons cases.

  11. I don’t know what happened to my post above, but where it has a smilie, it should read February of 2008.

  12. Gotta love the 8 and ) turning into 8) …

    I didn’t realize Michael Sneed was a woman … I apologize for all references to “he” but not for the thinking she did a poor job of writing.

  13. Noway – yeah, Sneed is a she. She is the one that first “broke” the pastor story in her column. She is also the one that wrote that tidbit about LE looking into water usage at the Peterson house the night that KS was thought to have died (remember, the washing machine story, that in which Drew was supposed to have thrown in dark clothing to wash when SP came upon him in the wee hours).

  14. lol
    I recognized the name but always thought Michael was a man … even though my son has a friend named Michael who is a girl.

    🙂

  15. One thing to keep in mind about Sneed is that her column is mostly a rumor column. Sort of – “you heard it here first” rather than hard news.

    It certainly backfired in April 07 when she wrote that the VTech shooter was from China. Ppapers all over the world took it up as gospel for about 12 hours. Ooops!

  16. …….he would even open his mouth and make a remark that “as long as he behaves himself” he can visit. In that regard, what’s his client’s excuse for trolling and prowling around for young women???
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I agree Rescue
    Brodsky, can, in my opinion, be categorized as being in the “same company” as DrewP, so to speak……….at least in their 8th grade mentality, and their inability to keep their pie hole’s shut. (I borrowed your phrase a tad)
    Brodsky, again, was trying to make DrewP look good, by making someone else look bad.
    Every time he says something he thinks will make DrewP seem better, it comes out to be worse than if he said nothing.

  17. patmccready – Your remark, “Every time he says something he thinks will make DrewP seem better, it comes out to be worse than if he said nothing” was right on!

    You see, most everyone that has been a part of Drew Peterson’s life, in any way, shape or form, is damaged goods if not 100% in his corner. Although, I must admit, I am curious to know if and why YC was allowed to see Stacy’s children with Drew. Not that he shouldn’t be able to see his nephew and niece, but I’m wondering if Cassandra has the same privilege.

    So, I guess I do have a question for Danya in that regard. Does Cassandra, in fact, see her nephew and niece? If not, why not.

  18. Several questions come to mind.
    When Drew went to Cushing airport 10/28/07 were Tom and Kris with him, or just Anthony and Laci?

    Does Drew drink coffee?

    Where is Tom Morphey?

    Did Tom and Kris go over to Sharon’s 10/28/07 with Drew or just Anthony and Laci?

    When school was in session, were the kids homeschooled or in public school?

  19. Ok what is it up there with bad cops?
    Another one in the news…
    geesh…
    h
    t
    t
    p://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080618/ap_on_re_us/officer_rape_charges;_ylt=Aifyth_DnUjUcTPzuURaikVvzwcF

  20. Of all the thousands and thousands of police officers all across the Country, don’t you think that there’s good going on too? There’s bad in every profession, service, career. Highlighting the filthiness of a chosen few doesn’t, in my opinion, deserve “what is up there with bad cops?” Reminds me of the saturation we saw with priests a while back. Made everyone think they’re “all bad.”

    IMHO, lumping bad apples together, merely because of their chosen profession, doesn’t make them all undesirables. I could just as well get on my high horse about lumping together teachers, coaches, scout leaders, priests, and others who prey on children, and, might I add, chose their professions just to be able to do just that thing. Please reconsider what you said and don’t lump all officers together with remarks “another one in the news.” Not fair.

    ‘nuf said.

  21. Rescueapet, I think Joel told us that Cass had been able to see the kids until the incident at Sharon’s where Anthony was “detained.”

    After that, Cass lost the privilege of seeing the kids.

    I could find Joel’s exact response if you want it or you can look on SYM.

  22. my apoligies rescue…
    I know there are more good ones then bad ones, but it seems in the news for us down here, there is at least one or more from IL reported every week…
    just strange that we are hearing more about the bad ones (specifically from IL), since this case broke open.
    again…forgive me please…
    I didnt mean anything bad by what I said…

  23. rocknrescue – oh, no problem. I guess I just get frustrated sometimes when evil DP types muddy up the rest of LE, and then it just snowballs. There’s many good, young people up and coming in LE that want to make a difference, but face so much adversity sometimes with the focus on the bad apples. The bad ones make it difficult for everyone. I’d like to slap the you-know-what out of the ones I’ve read about too sometimes, LOL.

    Noway – I didn’t know Cassandra was cut-off from visits after the Anthony fiasco. I wasn’t even sure if she did get to see the kids after SP’s disappearance. Doesn’t make any sense that DP went so nuts over the child hugging his aunt and getting his pic taken if, in fact, she had access to seeing the kids.

  24. Np…Cases like this really burn me up too…
    and unfortunately the bad ones seem to make “better” news stories..so it does make it hard on the good ones in LE. I have the utmost respect for any LE official that is doing their job, the way it should be done, and I have several firends in different areas of LE.
    We lived in a corrupt town closer to Tallahassee when we first moved to Fl. It was REALLY bad…the FBI finally got involved and did a complete house cleaning from the TOP of the Judicial ladder all the way down.
    This case just seems to bring out the worst in alot of people….why I do not know…but it seems to be that way…JMO

  25. Tomorrow is GJ day, I guess. We know Danya will be on GJ patrol. The mystery of it all is killing me!

  26. Just saw this. Things might be picking up again, at least in the KS estate matter:

    Savio estate: ‘They just don’t want us pawing around’

    June 18, 2008
    By STEWART WARREN / SWARREN@SCN1.COM

    JOLIET — A judge shouldn’t stall the proceedings in Kathleen Savio’s newly reopened probate case, according to a motion filed Wednesday morning in Will County.

    There’s simply no reason, Larry Varsek argued.
    “They just don’t want us pawing around to find out what happened here,” he said.
    continued…….

    http://www.suburbanchicagonews.com/napervillesun/news/1012334,jo18_savio_web.article

  27. The last paragraph was very interesting:

    When Brodsky asked the judge to stop the proceedings, he mentioned prejudice but wasn’t specific and didn’t explain, Varsek said. But that’s not the real reason behind the Chicago lawyer’s motion. Brodsky wants to delay the proceedings and a wrongful death lawsuit because he trying to help Peterson, his now-infamous client, Varsek implied.

    “Drew Peterson doesn’t matter in this,” he said. “What happens in the estate of Kathleen Savio is not the affair of Drew Peterson.”

  28. danya hooker…..

    the bloggers here have the questions and the answers.

    I have seen many questions posted to you on this blog that you do not answer.

    lol

  29. SNIP~
    Noway – I didn’t know Cassandra was cut-off from visits after the Anthony fiasco. I wasn’t even sure if she did get to see the kids after SP’s disappearance. Doesn’t make any sense that DP went so nuts over the child hugging his aunt and getting his pic taken if, in fact, she had access to seeing the kids.
    *****
    I do not believe Cass seen those children at all, until the infamous DETAINED allegation!
    If I can remember from all of the articles, and other BS.

  30. Sher, that’s why I said to take it with a grain of salt. It was JB who said she’d been able to see the kids up until that incident. 😉

  31. This is from Nancy Grace’s show on Dec 10. I don’t know if the situation changed after that or…

    BOSCO: You know, just to add on that, I know Cassandra had actually called him yesterday, the day before, to take the children out, and he did tell her no. As she — as I just said, I think he prefers to have them in around the house. I`m not sure if it`s a control issue or if it`s because it`s an involving the case issue. But he did say no to Cassandra as of yesterday, a day ago.

  32. It looks as if JB has shifted his focus back to attempting to discredit Pastor Schori at the SYM forum. Here’s his latest post:

    “There is absolutely no question that Shori is covered by the Illinois “Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Confidentiality Act” 740 ILCS 110/1 e. seq., because he provided marriage counseling services to both Stacy and Drew. (See Martino v. Family Service Agency, 112 Ill. App. 3d 593 (1982)) Marriage counselors are covered by the act. From what I am reading here it appears that Shori has not stopped violating the law after he gave his interview on Greta’s show, (and probably before the grand jury), but is still violating it on blogs by disclosing what was told him in counseling. I would have thought he would have gotten competent legal advise by now, but it appears that he has not. I wonder if any of his current parishoners feel safe telling their comfidential secrets to him now? ”

    This is the case mentioned:

    In Martino v. Family Service Agency of Adams County (1982), 112 Ill.App.3d 593 [67 Ill.Dec. 714] 445 N.E.2d 6, the plaintiff, Janet Martino, filed a five-count complaint against the Family Service Agency of Adams County (Family Service) and Jane Balke, the chief executive officer of Family Service, essentially alleging that plaintiff and her husband sought and received marital counseling services from Family Service, that defendant Balke was assigned to and did counsel plaintiff, and that during this period Balke: (a) used against plaintiff’s interest information obtained by Balke from plaintiff during counseling, (b) revealed those confidences to others, (c) fell in love with plaintiff’s husband, pursued him, and engaged in ‘intimate relations’ with him, and (d) after developing this conflict of interest failed to either inform plaintiff of the conflict or terminate her counseling relationship with plaintiff.

Comments are closed.