Drew Peterson defense seeks notes to contradict Savio letter

Peterson attorneys seek notes of Savio statement
December 4, 2009 3:01 PM

Kathleen Savio

Attorneys for Drew Peterson, charged with murdering his third wife Kathleen Savio, alleged in court Friday that a sworn statement she made to an insurance-company lawyer contradicts her account that Peterson broke into their home in 2002 and threatened her with a knife. Peterson’s defense attorneys are seeking a copy of the notes made by an attorney working for Country Companies Insurance. Three letters written by the attorney have already been turned over to the defense team, said Peterson attorney Joel Brodsky.

They are seeking two others as well as notes the attorney made during Savio’s August 6, 2003, sworn statement. Brodsky said the documents should not be protected by attorney-client privilege because Country Companies has twice turned them over to prosecutors.

“When the defense issues subpoenas, then all of a sudden (it’s privileged),” said Brodsky, who said the notes could be crucial to demonstrating that certain hearsay statements not be admitted at trial.

Mark Ruda, an attorney for the insurance company, said the letters were turned over by mistake.

“The disclosure was inadvertent,” he said. “There was no intent to waive privilege.”
Judge Stephen White said he would look over the documents and issue an order, but said that “at this juncture” it appeared the notes would be protected.

A hearing before Judge White to determine whether hearsay evidence would be allowed during a jury trial is scheduled to begin Jan. 19.

– Steve Schmadeke

Read the story at the Chicago Tribune


Here is Kathleen Savio’s report of the incident in which Drew broke into her home and threatened her (Spelling and grammar are hers).

November 14, 2002

Elizabeth Fragale
Assitant States Attorney

States Attorney
121 N. Chicago Street
Joliet, Illinois, 60431

Ms. Fragale,

On three different occasions I have tried to reach you over the phone regarding charges I filed against Drew Peterson on the date of July 5, 2002.

Note, I did contact the Police Dept and talked to the Asst Chief Mike Calcagno, in reference to Drew Break in the same weekend. I than filed a report in regards to my safety, from Drew by two officer that arrive at my residents 392 Pheasant Chase, Bolingbrook, Il. 60490.

When I found out Mr Peterson was having an affair with a minor at the police department, he began to get very violent. By strking me with his hand and chasing me through the house with a police stick. At that time on record, I had to get an order of protection from him.

Their has been several times throughout my marriage with this man where I ended up at the emergency room in Bolingbrook for injuries, and I have reported this only to have the police leave my home without filing any reports.

On July 5th, Mr. Peterson got into my home with a garage door opener he programmed for himself, while I was out of town with my son’s. I was unaware of his presents, and was very afraid for my live. This man pop out from our living room while I was walking down stair, with a basket of laundry. I was shocked and dropped all the cloths and sood their, asking him to get out. Drew was in uniform (swat Uniform) with his police radio in his ear. He yelled, for me to sit down and be quiet I refused and he pushed me on the stairs. He told me to move down to the third step and not to move or speak. He was very angry that in our divorce the judge ruled he would have to pay me child support. He told me he didnt want to pay me anything. (He left my boys 8 and 9, and I With many bills, up to 2,000.00 and with an 11,000.00 income tax bill, as well as a 6800.00 property tax bill for us to pay. Needless to say we are without money of any credit) He kept me in position for a very long length of time, while trying to convince me how horrible I am, and i just need to die. He asked me several times If I was afraid, I started to panic! He pulled out his knife, that he kept around his leg and brought it to my neck. I thought I’d never see my boys again. I just told him to end this craziness and he for some reason pulled back. I didnt tell the police because I know they can’t protect me from him. I know he will be back; he’s now attempting to try to make me look like the bad guy, with untrue charges of Battery against him, and his 17 yr. Girlfriend. The sick thing is I really think they’re enjoying this. Over the summer they went out of their way to roller blade right in front of my home, drive by and stop for long lengths of time in front of the house. Childish things like his girl friend flipping me off if I was out in front with the kids while driving by.

At the present time my children have been in a program at school called rainbows, in efforts to repair some of the damage Drew and his girlfirend has created. One of which Drew falsely arrested me in front of my children with my face in the grass, and calling me a criminal for hitting his girlfriend, which didn’t happen. Instead, she called me a bounce of inappropriate name in front of my children, so I felt it was necessary to get them back in the house away from this. When I ran to the truck, it being very high up I notices Stacy his girl friend taping me, with the stolen camera Drew took from our home.
I attempted to take the camera and my next goal was to return to my home with my children. But I was thrown to the ground and treated like an outlaw, and booked and arrested for no reason. My wrist was sprained, when I was being thrown to the ground and held down by Drew, who was not on duty at the time. While this was happening my children were being held against their own will, by Stacy Cales, while she told them to sit down and be quiet. My son’s phyc is working with them but states, “she cant fix what continue to happen on a on going basis’. My eight year old come home from spending 1 hour with his dad, because he really is never there, and pushes his sons and girlfriend on my son all the time, and expressed to me that he was confused! It seemed that Drews live in girlfriend showed both my sons her wedding dress and ring, and told them she was going to marry their father. Of course that’s ok, for Adults, but when my boys come home with tears in their eyes, still hoping for mom and dad to get back together again, it become heart breaking and very confusing to them. They don’t understand how dad can get married if he’s still married to their mommy. The list goes on, and I understand it’s just part of it, but it need to stop. My sons and I would like to move away from this area, for our safety and sanctity. I am a full time Nursing Student and Drew left me while in the middle of the program. I dont want my career or my sons to suffer this nightmare anymore.

He knows how to manipulate the system, and his next step is to take my children away. Or Kill me instead.

I really would like to know why this man wasnt charged with this unlawful entry, and attempt on my life. I am willing to take any test you want me to take to prove my innocents of charges against me, and also any lie detector test, on the my statement I filed against him. I really feel, Drew is a loose cannon, he out on the streets of Bolingbrook patrolling, and just taking the law into his own hands. I haven’t received help from the Police here in Bolingbrook, and asking for your help now. Before It’s to late. I really hope by filiing this charge it might stop him from trying to hurt us.

Please return my call, or write with answers to my questions.
630-759-3562
cc:Walter Jacobson

Read a letter sent the same day by Kathleen Savio to Walter jacobson at Fox News.

~By commenting you agree to be bound by the rules of this blog. If you spot a rule violation, send an e-mail to petersonstory@gmail.com.~

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic in comments. The following HTML tags are allowed: <a href=""> <abbr> <acronym> <b> <blockquote> <cite> <pre> <em> <i> <q> <strike> <strong>

63 thoughts on “Drew Peterson defense seeks notes to contradict Savio letter

  1. Those letters and notes are protected by attorney-client privilege. If they were turned over to the Scheme Team in error, then too bad so sad for Drew. Why should Judge White waive that privilege because of an error? All the more reason to make sure that no more of it falls into their hands and that the discovery is never admitted into evidence.

  2. AFAIK, attorneys’ notes are work product. Work product, as any attorney would say, does not get turned over. If, as the insurance company says, the notes were turned over inadvertently, then they goofed. Oh, well. Doesn’t seem to me to make it mandatory, then, that they have to turn them over to the Scheme Team. Nice try, though.

  3. “When the defense issues subpoenas, then all of a sudden (it’s privileged),” said Brodsky, who said the notes could be crucial to demonstrating that certain hearsay statements not be admitted at trial.

    When the State issues subpoenas to Derek Armstrong for his hundreds of hours of tapes, “then all of a sudden” he’s a journalist. Tapes that “could be crucial….”

    Oh, cut the crap.

  4. I’m cofnused. What would she even have told the insurance company about that incident. And Drew himself said he cut a hole in the wall. Even if they had the notes it will still be hard because in general DV victims often do give different stories to the authorties to protect their abuser. It does seem like the motions are getting more detailed but the case is surely still a long way away in reality.

    The suit claims that after Peterson and Savio separated, Peterson gained entry to Savio’s house by using a garage door opener and, on one occasion, by cutting out a portion of wall that he crawled through.

    Peterson said the wall-cutting incident happened before the couple filed for divorce. “Did I do it? Yeah. When I was voluntarily leaving the house, it was still my house, Kathleen changed the locks on me,” he said. “So instead of breaking down a $400 door, I cut a hole in the wall and squeezed through.”

    http://archives.chicagotribune.com/2009/apr/22/local/chi-peterson-suit-22apr22

  5. You’re confused, I’m confused, we’re all confused! Nothing the defense says or does makes any sense, when you logically go through what’s out there. It’s just more of their nonsense. No one is impressed. Looks like the judge isn’t either.

  6. TAI, I was tring to figure out what kind of insurance she had with Country Companies. Was it homeowner or the life insurance for the kids?

    Maybe August 2003 was when she was switching her life insurance beneficiary from Drew to the boys.

    In the inquest transcript Kathy’s sister mentions “Old Republic” Insurance.

  7. FTR, here is Drew’s report of what happened July 5, 2002 given on July 18:

    Drew advised that on Wednesday, 07-03-02, while working he received several calls from Kathleen during the early evening hours, wanting him to work with her to resolve the divorce and visitation issues. They both agreed that he would come over to her home Friday, 07-05-02, during the morning and they would talk. On Friday, 07-05-02 in the morning he walked over and used the garage door opener that he still had to get inside. He called out her name as he walked into the house. They met on the stairway and sat on the stairs while they talked. They discussed the divorce, the children,what had gone wrong, etc. for approximately three hours. They cried, hugged and Kathleen tried to kiss him, hut he did not kiss her. She exposed her breasts and pubic area to him and asked if he missed this at all. The conversation turned towards his girlfriend, Stacy. Kathleen told him that he controlled Stacy and that he should get Stacy to drop the battery charges. He recommended that she apologize to Stacy at which time she became angry and said she was not going to apologize. She told him to do the right thing or she would make him sorry. Drew advised that he told Kathleen he was already sorry. They both got up and Kathleen opened the door. They both walked outside, he went home and she got her mail.

    Drew advised that he was wearing a black sweatshirt, blue jeans, black sneakers, a pants belt with cell phone (with attached earpiece in his ear) and pager. He advised that he did not push Kathleen but did share a hug with her. He also advised that he did not have aknife or gun with him.

    Drew further advised that on today’s date at approximately 11:20 a.m. he received a telephone call from Kathleen (630/759-3562) and that she sounded angry, yelling and asking what is this battery charge that she had just been served with by the State Police.She complained that she would have to go to court again. She then said that she was going to press charges and hung up. At approximately 11:40 hrs. she recalled and told him that she was going to see him loose his job today. She then hung up. Drew advised that Kathleen was served with papers today by the Will County Sheriff for Domestic Battery and Unlawful Visitation Interference.

    The letters to the State’s Atty, Fox News, the police report (with statements from Kathy, Drew and Steve Maniaci) are all here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/8412703/Savio-Letter

  8. I do wonder if it’s just the “with a knife” part that is contradicted by the statement. In the police report, the officer states that Kathy first told him there was a knife but omitted to include it in her written report, so added it at his request and later crossed it out.

  9. WIFR in Rockford had a story tonight with snippet from Sue Doman. Nothing new though. Video is here:
    http://www.wifr.com/

    Strangely, they refer to hearings next week multiple times in the report but there is nothing on the court schedule until January 19. Guess I’ll check on Monday.

    Note: There are some factual errors in this report…

    Evidence in Machesney Park Could Be Used in Drew Peterson Murder Trial
    New hearings are scheduled for next week regarding evidence in the murder case against Drew Peterson. Peterson is accused of killing his third wife Kathleen Savio. Savio’s sister lives in Machesney Park and she spoke with us about that evidence.

    Sue Doman says her sister Kathleen told her numerous times that she feared her husband, Drew Peterson, would kill her, and it’s those statements that will be the focus of the hearings next week.

    Doman says Savio kept a journal about her life with Drew, that could be used as evidence in the case. The documents total over one hundred pages.

    Normally third party claims are hearsay and not admitted as evidence. However, a state law passed back in 2007, nicknamed for this case, allows prosecutors to admit hearsay evidence if attorneys can prove that the defendant killed a witness to prevent testimony. Peterson’s attorneys plan to fight that ruling.

    Doman is currently in possession of these documents from Savio, and has read through them. She says the most disturbing part is the sheer number of times that Savio tried to reach out for help.

    What upsets Kathleen’s sister the most is the fact that Stacey Peterson, Drew Peterson’s fourth wife, had to go missing before investigators would look into the possible murder of Savio.

    Drew was arrested for Savio’s murder back in May. Savio was killed in the bathtub inside her home.

    You might recall Savio’s death was originally ruled an accident, but after Stacey Peterson went missing, her body was dug up, and that accidental ruling was changed to homicide.

    Stacey Peterson has been missing since 2007. Drew Peterson has not been charged in her disappearance.

    http://www.wifr.com/home/headlines/78577877.html

    If you recall, at the death inquest Sue told the judge that she had a “suitcase” full of documentation from Kathleen…

  10. I’d wondered whether the papers strewn around Kathleen’s bed were someone looking for something and that maybe they found what they were looking for.

    I wonder if Kathleen’s sister had copies of everything Kathleen had. I hope so. IF someone took papers from Kathleen’s they might have thought those were the only copies.

  11. But, if the papers strewn on her bed were sensitive and related to her relationship with Drew, that should have been a red flag for the investigators and been of concern to them. On the other hand, I wonder if it’s at all possible that, as you say, the killer did take something from the papers, namely, her new Will. It’s strange, well, not when it comes to Drew Peterson, I guess, that Kathleen mentioned doing a new Will to her sister and wanting to give her a copy, yet, no current Will was found.

    Bettcha it was found by someone, heh?

  12. No towels or clothes were in the bathroom where she was discovered, a paramedic noted. Shampoo bottles were in upright positions along the small tub, unlikely if she had suffered a fall, according to a source. Books and papers were spread across her unmade bed and a picture was facedown on the floor near the nightstand, according to Illinois State Police reports also obtained by the Tribune.

    Doman said no one in her family was interviewed by state police. She said authorities ignored her request to look through a suitcase full of documents Savio had saved regarding her ongoing fight with Peterson.

    Savio’s body was found weeks before their divorce’s financial settlement was to be finalized.

    “We tried to get somebody to at least look, investigate,” Doman said. “Nothing, nothing, nothing.”

    http://archives.chicagotribune.com/2008/aug/18/local/chi-savio_18aug18

  13. What saddens me about this case is Kathleen did the right thing trying to tell people, to get help for herself….yet she was ignored. Even after her death it was continued to be swept under the rug. This is exactly why people don’t seek help, adults and children alike….they fear no one will believe them. I was wrong it doesn’t sadden me, it makes me damn angry!

  14. I hate to imagine how Kathleen felt, too, when she would drop charges or the restraining order because Drew would tell her that it would cost him his job, etc. She even went through with the bifurcated divorce so that he could marry Stacy and get her on his insurance in time for the baby.

    She gave up so much for his sake and as a favor to him, and out of fear of him, and then as soon as she was dead, he cleaned out the house and took everything.

  15. They both agreed that he would come over to her home Friday, 07-05-02, during the morning and they would talk. On Friday, 07-05-02 in the morning he walked over and used the garage door opener that he still had to get inside. He called out her name as he walked into the house. They met on the stairway …..

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Hmmmmm how strange is that, you make a firm arrangement with your wife to come over on a certain day, time etc to discuss important issues re a divorce, children etc and you use a GARAGE DOOR OPENER to let yourself in, then call out your wife’s name etc etc etc.

    Any normal person would be knocking on the front door or ringing the doorbell, considering they are EXPECTED to come over, yet this the same person who elects to stand in front of the same house when there is the emergency of his wife not responding to phone calls and sends his FRIENDS in to check, so he wouldn’t get accused of “stealing” anything from the house (!!)

    Drews logic: when you’re expected you use the garage door opener and when there’s an emergency you just stand in front of the house (!!)

  16. rescueapet :But, if the papers strewn on her bed were sensitive and related to her relationship with Drew, that should have been a red flag for the investigators and been of concern to them. On the other hand, I wonder if it’s at all possible that, as you say, the killer did take something from the papers, namely, her new Will. It’s strange, well, not when it comes to Drew Peterson, I guess, that Kathleen mentioned doing a new Will to her sister and wanting to give her a copy, yet, no current Will was found.
    Bettcha it was found by someone, heh?

    Sorry I wasn’t clear. But I think you got it.

    I didn’t mean that the papers still there were sensitive … I meant that someone took the sensitive ones and left the others (whatever they were) on the bed. Nobody asked the family if anything was missing and nobody that was there offered any information (if they knew).

    And it’s just an idea that popped into my head one day.

  17. It’s good to see however that in Drews declaration of July 18, 2002 he so happily volunteers to be using the garage door opener to let himself into the house.

    Of course this then begs the question, on what other occasions did Drew use the garage door opener ??????

  18. I think one of the possible options is that Drew had a key. Not to the front door but the door inside the garage and running to the house.

  19. facsmiley :TAI, I was tring to figure out what kind of insurance she had with Country Companies. Was it homeowner or the life insurance for the kids?
    Maybe August 2003 was when she was switching her life insurance beneficiary from Drew to the boys.
    In the inquest transcript Kathy’s sister mentions “Old Republic” Insurance.

    I think that it is possible that they mean Country Mutual Insurance Company which was Kathleen and Drew’s homeowner insurance company. This is the company that successfully removed itself from the wrongful death lawsuit and paying for Drew’s defense in that civil suit.

    I think that it is possible that Kathleen filed a claim to fix the hole in the wall or filed a claim for the loss of some of the items that she claimed Drew had taken. That’s the only thing I can see her making a statement to a representative of the insurance company. It is still very weird though that she would talk to a company lawyer. The only thing I can think of is that they have their lawyers take part in any alleged theft cases???

    http://www.chicagobreakingnews.com/2009/10/peterson-wont-contest-judges-insurance-ruling.html

  20. It’s also pestering me that Kathleen’s statement to the insurance company lawyer was from August 2003. The basement incident was July 2002 and in her report to the police about it she mentions two prior break-ins (the one where Drew cut a hole in the garage drywall and another where he cut a hole in her bedroom door to steal jewelry) so we know those two incidents were even earlier.

    So what was she telling a lawyer about in August 2003? Could she have waited that long to make a claim?

  21. Upcoming Show: 12/6/2009 9:00 PM
    Host Name: Levi Page Show

    Tonight at 10 PM EST / 9 CST my online radio show will be airing Live.

    Tonight we are going to discuss a very explosive topic: Police officers who betray their duties to serve and protect, police officers who do the unthinkable – commit murder. There have been many high profile examples of these traitors in the news, they range from Bobby Cutts Jr, the police officer that hails from Ohio who murdered the mother of his 2-year-old son and unborn daughter, to the infamous media whore from Illinois, Drew Peterson. Peterson is accused of murdering his 3rd wife Kathleen Savio in 2004 and is suspected in the mysterious disappearance of his 4th wife Stacy Peterson, who vanished in 2007.
    http://www.blogtalkradio.com/levipage/2009/12/07/murder-behind-the-badge

  22. This is all there is for Drew on the court schedule as of today:
    PETERSON DREW 1 19 10 WCCA 900 09MR000648 Prove-Up
    PETERSON DREW W 1 19 10 402 930 09CF001048 0 MURDER/INTENT TO 2 Hearing
    PETERSON DREW W 1 19 10 402 930 09CF001048 0 MURDER/INTENT TO 1 Hearing

  23. Rescue told me about this amendment in the works which would limit and define who is covered by “journalistic privilege” (the legal right to protect sources). Who would NOT be covered? Student journalists, amateur bloggers, or even freelancers if they are working without a contract. In other words, Derek Armstrong would not be covered.

    http://www.niemanlab.org/2009/12/feinstein-and-durbin-seeking-to-narrow-shield-laws-scope/

    http://www.nbcchicago.com/news/politics/Durbin-To-Bloggers-Drop-Dead-78763892.html

  24. Daily Calendar

    Wednesday, December 16, 2009

    Honorable Ronald A. Guzman Courtroom 1219 (RAG)

    1:09-cv-06746 Peterson v. JPMorgan Chase Bank NA 09:30 Status Hearing

  25. Drew’s prosecutors baffled

    December 10, 2009
    By JOE HOSEY JHOSEY@SCN1.COM

    JOLIET — Drew Peterson’s attorneys filed a mysteriously vague motion last week that has prosecutors scratching their heads.

    “We’re not certain what he’s getting at with that motion,” said Charles B. Pelkie, the spokesman for the state’s attorney’s office.

    Pelkie noted that prosecutors were still reviewing the motion of “objection to profer (sic) of expert witnesses” that Peterson’s attorneys Joel Brodsky and Andrew Abood filed Friday.

    The motion lists five questions the court must ask before admitting expert testimony, such as whether the testimony is relevant or if the witness is qualified to provide it, and “requests that this Court compel the People to ring the bell and answer in the People’s favor” with regard to the questions.

    “We’re not certain what he means by ‘ring the bell,’” Pelkie said. “We’re not certain what he means by that.”

    And Brodsky, who is the lead attorney for Peterson’s defense, failed to return calls for comment on the motion.

    Peterson, a former Bolingbrook cop, is being held on a $20 million bond while he awaits trial in connection with the March 2004 murder of his third wife, Kathleen Savio. Peterson is also the sole suspect in the October 2007 disappearance of his fourth wife, Stacy Peterson. The state police consider Stacy Peterson to be the victim of a “potential homicide,” but have made no arrests in the case and have failed to locate the missing mother.

    Peterson is due back in court Jan. 19, at which time Judge Stephen White will determine what — if any — hearsay evidence will be allowed at Peterson’s trial.

    Peterson’s attorneys filed the expert witness motion just before the start of Peterson’s last court appearance but made no mention of it to prosecutors, Pelkie said.

    “It appears that (State’s Attorney James Glasgow and Assistant State’s Attorney John Connor) were waiting in the courtroom while this was filed,” he said.

    While puzzled by the ambiguity of the motion, the state’s attorney’s office had taken no steps to clarify it.

    “We may file a response at some point,” Pelkie said, “if it’s necessary.”

    http://www.suburbanchicagonews.com/genevasun/news/1931156,4_1_JO10_PETERSON_S1-091210.article

  26. The Abood Law Firm lists a number of activities the law firm is involved in. One, in particular, is (from “Abood in the News”):

    Peterson Legal Team Meets in Chicago
    Andrew Abood, Joel Brodsky and Reem Odeh met in Chicago on Saturday following a hearing in the Peterson matter on Friday, December 4, 2009. Also present were staff support. Trial preparation went throughout the day and into the early evening. Optimization of trial related software programs was the focus of meeting.

    What the hell is “optimization of trial related software programs”?

    http://www.aboodlaw.com/

  27. Here’s what I was able to find that addresses the “proffer” of an expert witness:

    Expert Witness Qualifications

    In more sequential terms, what transpires is that the analyst is called to the stand. The attorney who called this individual then proceeds with a line of questions designed to establish the qualifications (education, training, knowledge, skill, etc) that are sufficient for the court to accept them as an expert in their particular field. The attorney, at the conclusion of his qualifying questions then “proffers the witness” as an expert in the field. Prior to the court ruling, the judge will inquire whether the opposing counsel wishes to make an inquiry of the witness, which is known as “voir dire.” This provides the opposing counsel an opportunity to challenge the qualifications and preclude the analyst from being accepted by the court as an expert.

    If the court does not recognize the analyst as an expert in the particular field, then they will not be permitted to give any opinion testimony. On the other hand, where an analyst is recognized by the court as an expert in a particular field, they will be permitted to give opinion testimony evidence.

    Attorneys (both prosecution and defense) may attempt a tactic where, after being recognized as an expert in a particular field, they attempt to elicit opinion testimony outside the range of their particular expertise. All attempts to solicit an opinion outside the scope of an analyst’s expertise should be responded to with “I am unable to render an opinion in that field as I am not qualified as an expert in that particular area.”

    Witnesses must ensure that their curriculum vitae (CV) is accurate, complete and free of any errors or omissions. Analysts should not underestimate opposing counsel checking into the background and representations of the witness on the CV.

    http://www.nfstc.org/pdi/Subject08/pdi_s08_m03_01_c.htm

    ************
    Proffer

    The word proffer is derived from Anglo-French “por-”, forth, and offrir, to offer.[1] The act of proffering involves making an offer prior to any formal negotiations.

    In the context of a trial, to proffer (sometimes profer) means to offer evidence in support of an argument, or elements of an affirmative defense or offense. A party with the burden of proof must proffer sufficient evidence to carry that burden.

    For example, in support of a particular argument, a party may proffer documentary evidence or witnesses.

    Where a party is denied the right to introduce evidence because that evidence would be inflammatory, hearsay, or would lack sufficient authentication, that party must make a proffer of what the evidence would have shown in order to preserve the issue for appeal.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proffer

  28. rescueapet :

    The Abood Law Firm lists a number of activities the law firm is involved in. One, in particular, is (from “Abood in the News”):

    Peterson Legal Team Meets in Chicago
    Andrew Abood, Joel Brodsky and Reem Odeh met in Chicago on Saturday following a hearing in the Peterson matter on Friday, December 4, 2009. Also present were staff support. Trial preparation went throughout the day and into the early evening. Optimization of trial related software programs was the focus of meeting.

    What the hell is “optimization of trial related software programs”?

    http://www.aboodlaw.com/

    Sharpening up their Google skills? ;)

  29. “We’re not certain what he means by ‘ring the bell,’” Pelkie said. “We’re not certain what he means by that.”

    I may be a little bleary from the cold, but this is cracking me up!

  30. Cases like this take a toll on others, including fellow cops.

    Stress, Secrets, Suicide: Cops Keep Mental Illness Silent
    By Mark Saxenmeyer, FOX Chicago News

    Chicago – His third wife drowned, his fourth wife disappeared. Drew Peterson wreaked havoc on those around him, turning their lives inside out.

    On the very day Stacey Peterson disappeared, when a firestorm of finger-pointing erupted in suburban Bolingbrook, Sgt. Drew Peterson’s former patrol partner, 34 year-old Chris Prochut had his very first inkling that his life as he knew it was over.

    “I was feeling the pressure then. They’re not, they don’t get this. This is gonna be huge,” said Prochut, now 36.

    An acclaimed Bolingbrook cop, Prochut had a meteoric rise through the ranks, reaching commander by his early thirties. He was the public face of the department and a respected family man.

    “Daddy was a rock star in the house,” said Jennifer Prochut, Chris’s wife of more than ten years.

    But the tawdry Peterson saga quickly began to sap Prochut of his strength, his energy, and his confidence.

    “We got e-mails, sick e-mails [saying] I’m a murderer can I, can I get a job in your town? I have a gun. I can start tomorrow,” recalled Prochut…

    http://www.myfoxchicago.com/dpp/news/special_report/stress-secrets-suicide-cops-keep-mental-illness-silent

    Sources for mental illness help:
    http://www.myfoxchicago.com/dpp/wildcard_8/extra_information/mental-illness-sources-of-information

  31. I have a warning for everyone. Don’t google the song by Anita Ward and listen to it, Ring my Bell, or you will not be able to get it out of your head all day.
    ;-)

  32. But you might want to google the term “get Brodsky & Abood secret decoder book” to be able to decipher whatever the hell these guys are talking about. Ringing bells, optimizing software – ooooooo, they’re such mysterious terms we need to look up.

  33. rescueapet :I have a warning for everyone. Don’t google the song by Anita Ward and listen to it, Ring my Bell, or you will not be able to get it out of your head all day.

    Too late Rescue – that was the very first thing I thought of and did after reading the article this morning on the train. I thought legal motions were only supposed to include legal terminology and arguments. I’d put money this one gets thrown out just for having that vague reference in it. But I can picture Brodsky, Odeh, and Abood all dancing to Anita Ward’s classic song.

  34. Sorry for you, TAI – I hope you’re not singing You Can Ring My Bell all day.

    I’d give anything to see Brodsky and Abood doing a little disco shoulder action to that tune, wouldn’t you?????

  35. I am definitely hearing the song in my head all day. Fortunately – I don’t mind the song and find it funny. The thing that is the hardest for me though is getting the picture of Boogie Brodsky out of my head.

  36. Now if I knew how I’d have posted the picture of Brodsky picking his nose with my last post… Boogie Brodsky! LOL!

  37. Seems like Dr. Dan likes to keep his website high up on the Google search list because he always makes sure that he has Drew Peterson at the bottom notes about himself on every article he posts and even on some cases pulls him into the main story. Seriously though – why else would he bring up Drew’s name and his children in an article about Antone Davis??

    Antone and his wife Carrie have three children Caitlyn, Dakota and Braden. Antone takes time out of his busy schedule to lift the spirits of children of all ages. Antone lifted the spirits of the four youngest Drew Peterson children when they escaped the Media to take some time out here in Florida. My favorite picture signed by Antone is the one where he is crushing Reggie White. I am a cheese head Packer fan and know that Reggie is in a better place now – no longer in the pain reflected on his face in that picture.

    Source: http://www.officialwire.com/main.php?action=posted_news&rid=51679&catid=10

  38. I saw that too TAI and had the same thought about Budenz and his name-dropping. Do you think the court will make sure to ask the “five questions” before allowing Dr. Dan to be sworn in as an expert witness? The People are ringing the bell!
    ;)

  39. Antone lifted the spirits of the four youngest Drew Peterson children when they escaped the Media to take some time out here in Florida.

    How about I have a good idea. How about the youngest two Peterson children be allowed to interact with their missing mother’s family, especially their Aunt Cassandra, who wants nothing more than to shower them with her love and affection, and this mope give it a rest in trying to get a hit on google by exploiting them for his own benefit. As if the dude he’s writing about deserves a shout out for being one of the special people the children’s father would allow access to his kids. This is sickening to even think about.

    Then, maybe, he can man-up himself and quit acting like the boob that he is. How about the next time he goes and visits his caged friend, he reminds him that the children have loving family members who do want them in their lives, and he’s denying it for his own selfish, evil ways. Isn’t a psychologist supposed to figure that out and counsel his patient, instead of using him as a mechanism to get hits through google?

  40. rescueapet :The Abood Law Firm lists a number of activities the law firm is involved in. One, in particular, is (from “Abood in the News”):

    Peterson Legal Team Meets in ChicagoAndrew Abood, Joel Brodsky and Reem Odeh met in Chicago on Saturday following a hearing in the Peterson matter on Friday, December 4, 2009. Also present were staff support. Trial preparation went throughout the day and into the early evening. Optimization of trial related software programs was the focus of meeting.

    What the hell is “optimization of trial related software programs”?
    http://www.aboodlaw.com/

    Purfeesional Lawyers Criminal Legal Defense for Dummies 101

  41. Sounds like they are running out of delaying tactics and getting on with the Trial. The latest court filing is for the purpose of trying to threaten and bully all the witnesses and make them nervous on the witness stand.

    The DP team is a bunch of paper tigers and full of hot air!

  42. judgin :
    The DP team is a bunch of paper tigers and full of hot air!

    *********************
    Hey, no maligning paper tigers or hot air, Judgin! ;-)

  43. Hey – that’s Joe Hosey’s story, word-for-word. Where’s the credit is right!

    It is funny that even the National Enquirer thought the bell ringing left them perplexed, as it did everyone else.

  44. I am not an attorney, nor do I play one on TV, but…. this “requests that this Court compel the People to ring the bell and answer in the People’s favor.” To answer in the People’s favor doesn’t that mean to grant what ever bell they are ringing?? I’m sure that ringing the bell is some fancy lawyer talk and we are all such laypeople we don’t even get it.

    and this: Peterson’s attorneys filed the expert witness motion just before the start of Peterson’s last court appearance but made no mention of it to prosecutors, Pelkie said.
    “It appears that (State’s Attorney James Glasgow and Assistant State’s Attorney John Connor) were waiting in the courtroom while this was filed,” he said.

    Can’t you just see them snickering and high fiving like school children because they had a secret and they did something right under their parent’s noses.

  45. The bottom line is – Judge White best know what “ring the bell and answer in the People’s favor” means, or, to coin a phrase I believe Brodsky himself has used, “they’ll get laughed out of the courtroom.”

    Maybe it’s some phenomenal legal tactic they’re using, one the likes of which none of us have ever seen nor heard, as hasn’t the current State’s Attorney and his legal assistants. One that is being used by a guy that chained himself to a defense table at one time, no? Maybe it was used in the Robert Blake trial, along with the “white noise” tactic. We’re just not getting it.

    Whatever it is, it sure would seem that they’re using everything but coming up with solid, credible evidence of their own to dispute what the State has handed them regarding Peterson’s involvement in the death of Kathleen. They’ve slimed all the witnesses they could so far, so now they’re starting in on the expert witnesses and trying to keep them out of the trial by asking for their bells to be rung. Is that right? ;-)

  46. I’m thinking ‘ring the bell’ was a sample of Blobsky’s soaring and affecting rhetoric. It has the hallmarks of Nose-Picker, Esq. nugget: it doesn’t belong in a Court filing and makes no sense.

  47. I think you’re right, Coffee. It’s their style — trying to interspear quirky statements with legal-eeze. Doesn’t seem like a smart thing to do if it’s lost on those that it’s meant to reach, heh?

    Still, it’s very strange, the filing of this motion, when you think about it. From a lay person’s view, is this to mean the defense is objecting to these particular expert witnesses being proffered by the State? Do they not feel these particular witnesses meet the qualifications required?

    Isn’t that something that Judge White is there to decide, and, if so, isn’t that just a little bit of an insult to file a motion that is meant to remind him who qualifies being proffered as an expert witness?

    Not being a lawyer, I can’t imagine what an insult that must be to Judge White to have this beaut of a motion to contend with.

  48. Good lord. yet another Derek Armstrong “report” that looks more like a paper a middle schooler would produce after a half hour of Googling:

    http://www.crimereportusa.com/cru/2009/12/13/by-the-numbers-does-capital-punishment-deter-murderers.html

    I mean, I know the blog is fake but more and more it starts to resemble those “ripped” blogs that grab content from other web sites, run it through a tranlater into some other language, and then back into English, and then post it as original content in order to run ads along side it.

  49. (This is the attorney that represents Craig Stebic)

    George D. Lenard Joins Drew Peterson Defense Team
    Lenard brings 20-plus years of legal experience to Peterson’s team.

    Joliet attorney George D. Lenard joins Peterson defense team.

    (PRNewsChannel) / December 14, 2009 / Chicago, Ill. / There’s another defense lawyer joining the team representing Drew Peterson. He makes it official today.

    Joliet Attorney George D. Lenard is licensed to practice in five states and has 21 years of criminal defense experience.

    Peterson is charged with murder in connection with the death of his third wife Kathleen Savio. His fourth wife Stacy vanished more than two years ago, but he has not been charged in connection with her disappearance. Peterson denies wrongdoing in both cases. He’s in the Will County jail awaiting trial.

    “We are very pleased that George will be joining our team. He is not only a great lawyer who has won many cases in Will County, he also has an in depth knowledge of the legal practices and procedures in Will County,” says Peterson’s lead defense attorney Joel A. Brodsky. “His 21 years of experience in criminal defense will make Drew’s team stronger.”

    “There is a tremendous amount of work that we have been doing. At every court appearance, the State’s Attorney office has at least 5 or more people appearing on the case. When you add someone like George D. Lenard, you are clearly going for quality as opposed to quantity.”

    “George has been consulting with the defense team for months,” says Andrew Abood, Peterson’s other criminal defense lawyer. “Today’s appearance in the case simply formalizes that role. The fact that he is located in Joliet will make it easier for us to respond to any issues that might arise that need an immediate response.”

    Lenard says he’s looking forward to his role on the defense team.

    “Attorneys Joel Brodsky, Reem Odeh and Andrew Abood are committed to provide Drew Peterson with the best defense possible. I look forward to helping them achieve that goal,” Lenard says.

    About George D. Lenard: George Lenard is licensed to practice law in Illinois, California, Florida, Arizona, and Michigan. He is a former assistant Will County State’s attorney and also is a member of the Illinois Capital Litigation Trial Bar Screening Committee, a panel responsible for investigating the qualifications of lawyers applying to represent clients in capital cases.

    Media Contacts:
    Glenn Selig
    PR firm: The Publicity Agency

    http://www.prnewschannel.com/absolutenm/templates/?z=0&a=1990

Comments are closed.